Adjust a customer's VIP tier

This feature is only available on a Smile paid plan. 

What we’re covering:

  • How to adjust a customer’s VIP tier 
  • What happens when you adjust a customer’s VIP tier

You can adjust your customers’ VIP tiers in the Customers section of your Smile Admin. 

Adjusting VIP tier for a single customer 

Placing a customer into a higher VIP tier can be a powerful way for your support team to turn a negative customer experience into a positive one. 

In a tough conversation, offering a customer access to a higher VIP tier and all of the benefits that come with it is an easy way to offer an exceptional experience.

To adjust an individual customer’s VIP tier, head over to the Customers section of your Smile Admin. Click on the customer whose VIP tier you’d like to change.

Once you’ve opened up the customer detail card, click “Change tier”.  

Using the VIP drop-down menu, choose the new tier you’d like to place the customer into and then click “Change tier” to confirm. 

Note: Once you’ve successfully changed their tier, your customer will:

  • Receive any entry rewards associated with that tier. 
  • Be notified of the tier change through email, if you’ve enabled email notifications.
  • See the new tier reflected when they log into the customer Panel.

Adjusting VIP tier for multiple customers 

There are some cases where it may be easier to adjust multiple customers’ VIP tiers at the same time.

To do this, head to the Customers sectionof your Smile Admin. Then select “Adjust VIP tiers” from the “Adjust customers” drop-down menu.

You’ll be prompted to load a .csv file that contains a list of customer emails and the VIP tier they should be placed in. After you’ve loaded your file, click “Import tiers” to confirm .

Note: Importing customer tiers will only adjust the tiers of existing customers. Learn more about adding your customers to Smilein this article.

📝Pro Tip:

Not sure how to format your .csv file? You can download a sample template to use when importing customer tiers.

Once you’ve adjusted your customer’s tiers, you’ll see the adjustment logged in your VIP activity grid. 

Note: When adjusting multiple customers’ VIP tiers at once, your customer will not:

  • Receive any entry rewards associated with that tier 
  • Be notified of the tier change through email
Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.