Manually adjust a customer’s points balance
Manual points adjustments take effect immediately and are reflected across the customer-facing surfaces enabled for the loyalty program. Customers will see their updated points balance, along with the addition or removal of points in their points history. Manual adjustments do not trigger an email notification to the customer. If you’d like to notify the customer, you’ll need to do so outside of Smile. To manually adjust a points balance:- In Smile Admin, navigate to Customers.
- Search for the customer you want to adjust.
- Select the customer.
- In the Points card on the customer profile, click Adjust balance.
- Input the points to be added or subtracted. If you want to remove points, enter a negative number (e.g., -10).
- Add a Reason for adjustment. This is an internal note for your records.
- Select Custom description to add a customer facing note for the adjustment or leave the Default description selected. This note is visible to the customer in the Smile panel.
- Click Adjust points.
Note: Adjusting a customer’s points balance can also affect their VIP tier if you have a VIP program that uses points earned as the milestone type. If an adjustment increases their total points earned enough for them to enter a new VIP tier, they will receive that tier’s entry reward. Negative adjustments lower a customer’s points balance, but they don’t reduce their total points earned, so they won’t move a customer to a lower VIP tier.