Introduction

This article will give an overview of how the referral program works, the possible referral sharing options and the settings that can be configured within the referral program.

Your referral program's Activity page allows you to see which customers made and received referrals, and the status of the referrals. You can also cancel referrals from here. (Program > Activity > Referrals)

Overview

Rewards

Sharing Options

Settings


A Smile referral program is made up of 3 distinct parts:

1. Rewards

The Rewards page is where you can edit and set your Advocate (referring customer) and Friend (referred friend) rewards. You can also see how many times each of these rewards have been redeemed.

2. Social Sharing

Sharing Options is where you can set up your referral channels and website's referral message metadata.

3. Settings

This is where you can add a referral landing page URL, a custom referral domain, as well as enable or disable your referral program.

✅ Custom domains are available on our Enterprise plan.

📋 Note: To allow guests to participate in your referral program you will need to enable the program participation setting.

BigCommerce users: Smile completes referrals based on the first order made by the referred friend. BigCommerce will create duplicate orders and only complete the second one if the customer navigates away from billing, either to go back in the checkout flow or even if payment is declined. As a result of this, the first order does not complete and will be considered an 'Incomplete' order. Smile won't be able to complete the referral because of this. If this edge case occurs we recommend manually awarding the advocate with the advocate reward.


What's next?
3 steps to build the best referral program


Learn more

Referral program performance explained
Cancel a referral

Referral fraud prevention

Did this answer your question?