Ready to pull the plug on enabling your Points Expiry feature but want to know what happens when you do? Then read on!
✅ This feature is only available on a Smile Growth plan and up.
Here's what we're covering:
Q: If I enable my points expiry today, what happens?
Points do not expire immediately.
If you enable your Points Expiry today, existing points will not expire until the expiration period you have selected. There are 3 options for the expiration period:
1 year - most commonly used
If you selected 1 year, all existing customer points will only expire after 1 year from today, regardless of the date of when the customer first earned those points.
Customer A earned 500 points on January 1, 2021.
Points Expiry enabled and expiration period is set for 1 year.
Customer A's 500 points will expire on January 1, 2022
If Customer A earns 100 points on December 31, 2021, their whole customer balance (500 + 100 = 600 points) will expire on December 31, 2022.
Q: Do customers get a notification when I enable this feature?
Q: Do customers get notified if their points are about to expire?
Yes. When you enable the Points Expiry feature, two Smile emails are automatically enabled:
You can view, edit and disable them under the Customer Emails tab.
Q: How should I tell my customers about points expiring?
Here is an example for inspiration:
"Your points will expire only if you have not earned or spent points for a continuous period of 6 months! We will always send you a reminder before any points expire."
You can set points to expire in 6 months, 1 year or 2 years. You can also set when the two Smile notification emails get sent. All of this can be edited and view in the Points Expiry section under your Points program tab.