Feature availability: VIP is available on Growth, Plus, and Enterprise plans.
Adjust VIP tier for a single customer
Important: Customers can only be moved into a higher tier. It is not possible to manually downgrade a customer to a lower tier.
- In Smile Admin, navigate to Customers.
- Search for the customer you want to adjust.
- Select the customer.
- In the VIP card, click Change tier.
- Select the new VIP tier.
- (Optional) Enter internal notes in the Reason for change field.
- Click Change tier.
What happens when you adjust a single customer’s tier
After manually adjusting a single customer’s VIP tier, they:- Will receive any entry rewards associated with that tier.
- Will receive an email notification, if VIP emails are enabled.
- Will see their updated tier in the Smile Panel when logged in.
Adjust VIP tiers for multiple customers
Important: Importing VIP tiers will only adjust the tiers of existing customers moving into a higher tier. It will not create new customers.
- In Smile Admin, navigate to Customers.
- Click the Adjust customers button.
- Select Adjust VIP tiers.
- Upload a completed CSV file containing customer emails and their new tiers.
- Click Import tiers.
Note: VIP tier names in your CSV must exactly match the tier names in your Smile settings. The text is case-sensitive.
What happens when you adjust tiers via CSV import
When adjusting multiple VIP tiers using a CSV upload, customers:- Will not receive any entry rewards for their new tier.
- Will not receive a tier change email notification.
- Will see their updated tier in the Smile Panel when logged in.
Note: If your VIP program has never been launched, changes made via import won’t take effect until the program is activated.
How manual tier changes work
Manually assigning a VIP tier sets a minimum tier for the customer. They can still move up to a higher tier through their activity, but won’t drop below their manually assigned tier while the assignment is active. How long the assignment lasts depends on your VIP program’s milestone period:- One calendar year: The assigned tier lasts until the end of the following calendar year. After that, the customer’s tier is based on their activity.
- Lifetime: The assigned tier doesn’t expire.