What we’re covering 

  • What happens when you cancel a referral
  • How to cancel a referral

If you detect that a referral may be fraudulent, you can cancel it in the Referrals section of your Smile Admin.

What happens when you cancel a referral

Cancelling a pending referral 

A referral is marked "pending" when an Advocate’s Friend has entered their email to claim their referral reward code, but has not yet placed an order with their code.

Cancelling a referral in the "pending" state will:

  • Prevent the Advocate from receiving a referral code if the Friend places an order. 
  • Mark the reward code that has been issued to the Friend as cancelled in the customer Panel. They will not be able to copy this code from the Panel.
  • For Shopify merchants, Shopify discount codes generated by Smile for the Friend will be voided so they can no longer be used. 

Cancelling a completed referral 

A referral is marked “completed” when an Advocate’s Friend has entered their email to claim their referral code and the Friend has placed an order.

Cancelling a referral in the "completed" state will: 

  • Cancel the Advocate and Friend’s reward code.
  • Adjust the points balance for the Friend and Advocate if they earned points for the referral. 
  • For Shopify merchants, reward codes generated by Smile for the Advocate and Friend will be voided. 

How to cancel a referral 

To cancel a referral, click on the row of the referral you’d like to cancel in the “All Referrals” grid. 

Select “Cancel referral”. Once you’ve cancelled a referral it will be moved to the “cancelled” referrals column in your “All Referrals” grid. 

📝 Pro Tip: 

A referral cancellation cannot be undone, so make sure you’ve selected the right referral before you cancel.

Note: there are three instances where a referral will automatically be cancelled by Smile:

  • If you remove a customer from your program, any of their pending referrals will be cancelled.
  • If a customer is deleted, any of their pending referrals will be cancelled. 
  • If an order is refunded, any referrals associated with that order will be cancelled.

Did this answer your question?