Introduction

There may be instances where you want to cancel a referral that has occurred in your referral program. This article will explain how you can cancel a referral to prevent abuse of the referral program.

Overview

What happens when you cancel a referral

How to cancel a referral


What happens when you cancel a referral

If you detect that a referral may be fraudulent, you can cancel it in the Referrals section (Smile Admin > Programs > Activity > Referrals)

Cancelling a pending referral

A referral is marked pending when an Advocate’s Friend has entered their email to claim their referral reward code, but has not yet placed an order with their code.

Cancelling a referral in the pending state will:

  • Prevent the Advocate from receiving a referral code if the Friend places an order.

  • Mark the reward code that has been issued to the Friend as cancelled in the customer Panel. They will not be able to copy this code from the Panel.

  • For Shopify merchants, Shopify discount codes generated by Smile for the Friend will be voided so they can no longer be used.

Cancelling a completed referral

A referral is marked completed when an Advocate’s Friend has entered their email to claim their referral code and the Friend has placed an order.

Cancelling a referral in the completed state will:

  • Cancel the Advocate and Friend’s reward code.

  • Adjust the points balance for the Friend and Advocate if they earned points for the referral.

  • For Shopify merchants, reward codes generated by Smile for the Advocate and Friend will be voided

How to cancel a referral

Navigate to the customer who's referral you would like to cancel, and select Cancel Referral:

Once you’ve cancelled a referral it will be moved to the cancelled referrals column in your All Referrals grid.

📝 Smile Pro Tip: A referral cancellation cannot be undone, so make sure you’ve selected the right referral before you cancel.

There are three instances where a referral will automatically be cancelled by Smile:

  • If you remove a customer from your program, any of their pending referrals will be cancelled.

  • If a customer is deleted, any of their pending referrals will be cancelled.

  • If an order is refunded, any referrals associated with that order will be cancelled.


What's next?

Referral program overview

Learn more

Referral program performance explained

Cancel a referral

Cancel VIP and referral rewards

Did this answer your question?