How rewards are issued
When Smile issues a reward to a customer (like a coupon code or gift card), Smile has to first generate the reward in the external platform (e.g. Shopify or BigCommerce). The reward generation can happen either immediately (synchronously) or in the background (asynchronously). If a reward is generated synchronously (e.g. when redeeming points), it will either be:- Successful, and then saved to the customer’s profile, or,
- Unsuccessful, and an error message will be displayed to the customer + the reward will not be saved to the customer’s profile.
Identify the status of a reward
The reward status is visible from the profile page of the customer who was issued the reward.- In Smile Admin, find the relevant customer.
- In the Activity section, click on the Rewards tab.
- Use the arrow buttons to scroll and find the reward you’re interested in.
Reward statuses
Important: Applying a reward code during checkout does not mark the reward as Used. If the customer removes the code, abandons checkout, or uses a different discount instead, the reward remains Issued unless the order is completed with the reward applied.
Note: Smile does not track the usage of gift cards and these will never be marked as Used.
FAQ
Does applying a reward code at checkout mark it as Used? No. A reward is only marked as Used after an order is successfully completed with the reward applied. If a customer applies the code at checkout but removes it or abandons checkout, the reward remains in Issued status and can still be used later.Is an online reward marked as Used if it’s redeemed in-store with Shopify POS? Yes. If a customer uses an online reward code at Shopify POS, the reward is marked as Used once the order syncs to Smile, as long as a customer is attached to the order. Smile doesn’t process POS orders without a customer attached, so rewards used on these orders will remain in Issued status. Can a reward discount code be used more than once? Discount codes generated by Smile for Shopify and BigCommerce rewards are single-use. Once a code is used on a completed order, it can’t be used again. This includes codes from your points, VIP, referral, and POS programs. Subscription discounts are an exception and can be configured to apply to multiple recurring payments. What happens to discount codes customers already have if I delete a way to redeem? Deleting a way to redeem only prevents customers from redeeming points for that reward in the future. Discount codes that have already been issued aren’t affected, so customers can still use any unused codes.