Add customers
Smile automatically adds customer accounts from Shopify or BigCommerce to your loyalty program, eliminating the need for manual entry. To manually add a customer, create a new customer profile in your Shopify or BigCommerce admin and include a valid email address. New customers are added to Smile immediately when they complete a purchase or when their customer profile is edited in your eCommerce platform. For stores using Shopify’s new customer accounts, a customer is also added when they log in and Smile content loads during that session, such as the Smile panel or Loyalty Hub. If a customer is created manually in your eCommerce platform and has no further activity, they are added to Smile during the next nightly sync.Delete customers
To delete a customer from your loyalty program, delete their profile in your Shopify or BigCommerce admin. The deletion is automatically synced with Smile, and no further action is required.Edit customers
To update customer details such as their name or email address, make the changes in your Shopify or BigCommerce admin. Customer profile edits are automatically synced with Smile. If a customer’s email address is removed in Shopify, Smile won’t accept the blank value. The customer’s existing email address is kept on their loyalty profile. Shopify placeholder email addresses are also treated as valid and will be synced to the customer’s loyalty profile.Note: Customers also manage their account details through their store account. To update details like a password, or fix login issues, they’ll need to make changes directly in their store account.
Merge customer accounts in Shopify
You can follow Shopify’s guide on how to merge customers to combine customer profiles in your store. Smile doesn’t currently integrate with Shopify’s customer merge feature. When Shopify merges two customer profiles into one, Smile doesn’t merge the associated loyalty data. Because Smile syncs customer accounts with Shopify, the Smile account associated with the profile that isn’t retained is deleted, including its points balance, order history, and any pending referrals. The loyalty data associated with the retained customer profile isn’t affected. Before completing the merge in Shopify, make a note of the points balance for the customer profile that will be removed during the merge. Once the merge is complete, this information can’t be recovered. If you’d like to preserve the customer’s points, manually adjust the remaining customer’s points balance in Smile after the merge. Rewards (discount codes) can’t be transferred between customer accounts.Note: When customer profiles are merged in Shopify, orders from the deleted profile are reassigned to the remaining customer profile. If any of those orders were placed within the past year while Smile was installed, they may earn points again on the remaining customer’s account. Review the customer’s points earning after the merge and adjust manually if needed.