Introduction

If at any point you have disabled your VIP program, you will need to re-enable it in order for customers to move through VIP tiers and get rewarded. This article gives an overview of re-enabling your VIP program.

✅ This feature is only available on a Smile paid plan.


What happens when you re-enable your program

If you've disabled your VIP program to make changes to your settings, you'll need to re-enable it for your new program settings to take effect.

When you re-enable your program any new customer that joins your VIP program:

  • Will have their VIP tiers calculated using your new program settings.

  • Will see progress towards their next VIP tier in their customer Panel.

Any existing customers who were already in your VIP program:

  • Will have their VIP tiers recalculated using your new program settings.

  • Will see progress towards their next VIP tier in their customer Panel.

  • Could lose their VIP tier if you've made changes to your program earning conditions, added a tier or removed a tier.

  • Will not receive any entry rewards or email notifications if their tier changes.

📝 Important note:

  • If you use the 'Calendar Year' milestone period - and you re-enable your program - we will base the calculations off of the start of the most recent calendar year (January 1st). So let's say you have your program start date set to July 1, 2021 - and you re-enable your VIP program on Jan 10, 2022 - we will bypass your set program start date and calculate tiers based on your customers' earning/spending since Jan 1, 2022.

  • Essentially - if you have a calendar year based VIP program that's been running for a while & you'd like your customers to keep their tiers based on their progress from a previous year - it's not recommended to re-enable the VIP program near the beginning of the year - as customers will lose their progress from the previous year, and start fresh based on their spending/earning of the current year.

How to ensure customers do not lose their VIP tier when you re-enable your program

To ensure that your existing customers do not lose their VIP tier:

  1. Export a list of your customers and their current VIP tier before you disable your program.

  2. Import your customer list using our Adjust customers feature to place them into the tier they were in before you made your program changes.

📋 Note: if you need to make adjustments to your customers’ VIP tiers, do this before you re-enable your program.


What's next?

VIP program overview

Learn more

Disable program

Add VIP perks

Adjust customer VIP tier

Did this answer your question?